Latest JJLA news


Ian Whates at Newcon Press has acquired World English Language rights to Gary Gibson’s novella GHOST FREQUENCIES and will publish in signed hardback, paperback and ebook editions. The agent was John Jarrold.


Ian Whates said: “I’m delighted at this opportunity to work with Gary Gibson, an author whose brand of thrilling science fiction I’ve long admired. GHOST FREQUENCIES is a gripping tale of science applied to the supernatural, and the terrifying possibilities that lurk in the overlap. The story will form part of a ‘Strange Tales’ quartet of novellas currently taking shape and it represents a fabulous addition to the NewCon Novella series.”


• September 19th, 2017 • Posted in News


Jessica Purdue, Senior Rights Manager at Orion, has sold US rights in SUMMERLAND by Finnish science fiction novelist resident in the USA, Hannu Rajaniemi, to Patrick Nielsen Hayden of Tor.


World rights in this and two further novels were acquired by Gollancz in 2013 for six figures. Hannu’s debut novel, THE QUANTUM THIEF, plus two further books were originally acquired pre-emptively by Simon Spanton of Gollancz for a high five-figure sum in pounds sterling, on the basis of one chapter, in 2008.  Both Gollancz and Tor will publish in the summer of 2018. The agent was John Jarrold.


SUMMERLAND is an awe-inspiring account of the afterlife and what happens when it spills over into the world of the living. The new novel from the most exciting new voice in the genre since Neal Stephenson.


Loss is a thing of the past. Murder is obsolete. Death is just the beginning.


In 1938, death is no longer feared but exploited. Since the discovery of the afterlife, the British Empire has extended its reach into Summerland, a metropolis for the recently deceased.


Yet Britain isn’t the only contender for power in this life and the next. The Soviets have spies in Summerland, and the technology to build their own god.


When SIS agent Rachel White gets a lead on one of the Soviet moles, blowing the whistle puts her hard-earned career at risk. The spy has friends in high places, and she will have to go rogue to bring him in.


But how do you catch a man who’s already dead?


• September 14th, 2017 • Posted in News


Mel Melcer has joined the John Jarrold Literary Agency. Mel’s short fiction has appeared in Daily Science Fiction. She is a screenwriter and a director with several short films produced and exhibited at festivals, but her focus has now shifted to fiction.


She was born in Poland in time to see the Iron Curtain go down, and has since lived in the US, the Netherlands, Belgium, and for the past eight years in the UK. She studied English literature in Poland and in the USA.


Mel’s new SF novel is ORION’S SHADOWS. 39-One is the leader of an elite force of Shadows, enhanced soldiers who run near-suicide missions against an invading alien civilization. Overwhelmed and outgunned, humans have been on the retreat for over three centuries, evacuating entire systems in a struggle for survival of humankind. 39-One no longer believes his sacrifice will make a difference, but he’s resolved to die trying. However, this is only the opening of a book whose scope expands exponentially in terms of setting, characters and tone. It will appeal to readers of Anne Leckie’s Ancillary Justice and Yoon Ha Lee’s Ninefox Gambit.


“Mel is a remarkable writer, totally in control of her material and with entire universes in her mind,” said John Jarrold. “This is the beginning of a major career.”


• September 5th, 2017 • Posted in News


Agency client Ruaridh Pringle has created a new website with details of his wonderful novels and his other activities:



• September 4th, 2017 • Posted in News


Francesca Tristan Barbini of Luna Press has acquired World English rights in three volumes of the Troutespond series of YA novels by young novelist Elizabeth Priest. The agent was John Jarrold.


The first book, CONCRETE FAERY, follows the rambling internal monologue of teenager Ally Guardian – a self-confessed side character to her louder friends, she remains permanently convinced that the universe wanting anything to do with her is a cosmic joke. Late one night her insomniac thoughts are derailed by the appearance of a strange man who sits outside her window, and tells her “I can’t speak to you yet” when she goes down to talk to him. The next day she is implicated in a demonic attack on her history teacher, and given the new girl at their school to look after as punishment. Alana Larbie seems to know everything and claims it was demons who got her kicked out of her old school, mistaking Ally’s sarcasm for knowledge of the real situation. She indulges the mad theories Ally’s oldest friend Tanya is throwing out, despite the scepticism of their one “normal” friend, Teb. They begin to half-heartedly investigate.


The Troutespond Series is a work of Young Adult fantasy, working on the premise that if the supernatural did exist, inquisitive teenagers would be the first to notice and absolutely the worst people ever to interact with it.


“The series is witty, frightening and wonderful,” said John Jarrold.  “The characters leap from the page – funny, infuriating and fascinating.  This is a major achievement, a living, breathing world.”


• September 1st, 2017 • Posted in News