Latest JJLA news

POLISH RIGHTS DEAL FOR HANNU RAJANIEMI’S THE CAUSAL ANGEL

Jessica Purdue, Senior Rights Manager at Orion, has sold Polish rights in THE CAUSAL ANGEL by Finnish science fiction novelist resident in the USA, Hannu Rajaniemi, to MAG, who have already published the first book in the series – THE QUANTUM THIEF and will be publishing THE FRACTAL PRINCE and THE CAUSAL ANGEL in the spring of 2018, together with a re-launch of THE QUANTUM THIEF.

 

World rights in this series were originally acquired pre-emptively by Simon Spanton of Gollancz for a high five-figure sum in pounds sterling, on the basis of one chapter.  The agent was John Jarrold.

 

Hannu’s next novel, SUMMERLAND, will be published by Gollancz in the UK and Tor in the US in the summer of 2018.

 

Praise for Hannu Rajaniemi:

 

A widescreen-baroque grandeur… A maddening, dizzying and dazzling novel (SFX)

Hannu Rajaniemi is without question one of the smartest and most exciting writers working in science fiction as we speak, and I can’t wait to see what he does next. (Tor.com)

The bottom line for The Causal Angel and the Jean Le Flambeur series: it’s evocative and can be mind-bogglingly at times but this creates a highly addictive air around it, and once you get through to the fine details you will be amazed. This is must read science fiction. (The Book Plank)

With The Quantum Thief, Hannu Rajaniemi set a new standard for science fiction that dared to imagine a post-human future. With its sequel, The Fractal Prince, he successfully built on his narrative foundations to add a greater depth to his characters – not least the gentleman thief Jean le Flambeur – and an added strength to his ideas. So it’s something of a relief to report that the trilogy’s conclusion, The Causal Angel, doesn’t disappoint. (The Skinny)

It’s all things to all people, opening up to deliver whatever you want from it – action and adventure, memorable characters, rich stories and weighty themes. This is what Science Fiction should aspire to. (SF Crowsnest)

The author, who has a PhD in string theory, uses the tropes of the genre to present cutting-edge explorations of post-humanism, quantum physics and cybernetics. The plot is pell-mell, the theory intellectually challenging, and Flambeur appears as a fully rounded human being, with hopes and desires, strengths and flaws. (The Guardian)

 

 

• September 29th, 2017 • Posted in News

PHILIP PALMER’S NOVEL HELL ON EARTH – 99P/$1.34 ON AMAZON

Philip Palmer’s amazing novel HELL ON EARTH is available on kindle for 99p in the UK/ $1.34 in the US, for two weeks from today! It’s not just a complete change from Philip’s previous novels, it’s one of the most original novels I’ve been involved with over the past 30 years. Buy it, read it…

 

• September 25th, 2017 • Posted in News

NEWCON PRESS ACQUIRE RIGHTS TO GARY GIBSON NOVELLA

Ian Whates at Newcon Press has acquired World English Language rights to Gary Gibson’s novella GHOST FREQUENCIES and will publish in signed hardback, paperback and ebook editions. The agent was John Jarrold.

 

Ian Whates said: “I’m delighted at this opportunity to work with Gary Gibson, an author whose brand of thrilling science fiction I’ve long admired. GHOST FREQUENCIES is a gripping tale of science applied to the supernatural, and the terrifying possibilities that lurk in the overlap. The story will form part of a ‘Strange Tales’ quartet of novellas currently taking shape and it represents a fabulous addition to the NewCon Novella series.”

 

• September 19th, 2017 • Posted in News

US RIGHTS DEAL FOR HANNU RAJANIEMI’S SUMMERLAND

Jessica Purdue, Senior Rights Manager at Orion, has sold US rights in SUMMERLAND by Finnish science fiction novelist resident in the USA, Hannu Rajaniemi, to Patrick Nielsen Hayden of Tor.

 

World rights in this and two further novels were acquired by Gollancz in 2013 for six figures. Hannu’s debut novel, THE QUANTUM THIEF, plus two further books were originally acquired pre-emptively by Simon Spanton of Gollancz for a high five-figure sum in pounds sterling, on the basis of one chapter, in 2008.  Both Gollancz and Tor will publish in the summer of 2018. The agent was John Jarrold.

 

SUMMERLAND is an awe-inspiring account of the afterlife and what happens when it spills over into the world of the living. The new novel from the most exciting new voice in the genre since Neal Stephenson.

 

Loss is a thing of the past. Murder is obsolete. Death is just the beginning.

 

In 1938, death is no longer feared but exploited. Since the discovery of the afterlife, the British Empire has extended its reach into Summerland, a metropolis for the recently deceased.

 

Yet Britain isn’t the only contender for power in this life and the next. The Soviets have spies in Summerland, and the technology to build their own god.

 

When SIS agent Rachel White gets a lead on one of the Soviet moles, blowing the whistle puts her hard-earned career at risk. The spy has friends in high places, and she will have to go rogue to bring him in.

 

But how do you catch a man who’s already dead?

 

• September 14th, 2017 • Posted in News

MEL MELCER JOINS JJLA

Mel Melcer has joined the John Jarrold Literary Agency. Mel’s short fiction has appeared in Daily Science Fiction. She is a screenwriter and a director with several short films produced and exhibited at festivals, but her focus has now shifted to fiction.

 

She was born in Poland in time to see the Iron Curtain go down, and has since lived in the US, the Netherlands, Belgium, and for the past eight years in the UK. She studied English literature in Poland and in the USA.

 

Mel’s new SF novel is ORION’S SHADOWS. 39-One is the leader of an elite force of Shadows, enhanced soldiers who run near-suicide missions against an invading alien civilization. Overwhelmed and outgunned, humans have been on the retreat for over three centuries, evacuating entire systems in a struggle for survival of humankind. 39-One no longer believes his sacrifice will make a difference, but he’s resolved to die trying. However, this is only the opening of a book whose scope expands exponentially in terms of setting, characters and tone. It will appeal to readers of Anne Leckie’s Ancillary Justice and Yoon Ha Lee’s Ninefox Gambit.

 

“Mel is a remarkable writer, totally in control of her material and with entire universes in her mind,” said John Jarrold. “This is the beginning of a major career.”

 

• September 5th, 2017 • Posted in News