Latest JJLA news

DMR BOOKS DEAL FOR RAMSEY CAMPBELL DARK FANTASY COLLECTION

Dave Ritzlin of DMR Books has acquired non-exclusive reprint rights to the dark swords and sorcery collection FAR AWAY AND NEVER by Ramsey Campbell. The agent was John Jarrold. This edition will also include and extra story – A Madness From the Vaults. The book is due for publication in the autumn of 2021.

Ramsey Campbell is the doyen of horror novelists. He is the only living horror writer to appear in the Oxford Companion to English Literature. He was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of Liverpool John Moores University in 2015.

Film-maker, screenwriter, producer and novelist Guillermo del Toro has tweeted about Ramsey Campbell: “An absolute master of modern horror. And a damn fine writer at that.”

DMR has previously reprinted collections by Poul Anderson, Henry Kuttner, Tanith Lee, Manly Wade Wellman and others.

• May 24th, 2021 • Posted in News

SCOTTISH AUTHOR DAVID CRAIG JOINS JOHN JARROLD LITERARY AGENCY

David Craig

 

Scottish fantasy author David Craig has joined the John Jarrold Literary Agency.
His novel Diabolic Immunity is set in contemporary Glasgow – Line of Duty meets Penny Dreadful. After a murder investigation leads DC Kalam Dash to Glasgow’s supernatural community, DCI Harry McNair and DS Nora Driscoll reluctantly second him into their secretive unit, one that polices the magicians, undead and other supernatural entities. Another new recruit to the unit is PC Kate Goodfellow, who was killed and cremated twenty-six years ago, and now mysteriously returned to life…

Hunting a vampire becomes even more complicated when Hell’s Consulate extends him diplomatic protection, taking advantage of an unprecedented truce between angels and demons. The coming apocalypse may be beyond Dash and Goodfellow’s pay grade, but it’ll be left to them to deal with the fallout as Heaven and Hell look to the bigger picture.

This is perfect for readers of The Last Smile in Sunder City, by Luke Arnold, James Oswald’s crime novels with a supernatural twist, and the Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch – although Diabolic Immunity is told in the third person, with two point of view protagonists. The officers tasked to police the supernatural are also (generally) human.
David lives near Glasgow with his wife and daughter, where he works as an analyst for a public sector organisation. He previously volunteered for some years as a Special Constable, which gave him the experience needed to balance the supernatural elements of this story with an authentic policing feel.

John Jarrold said: “I see many urban fantasies, but the gritty reality of David’s Glasgow – set against the supernatural entities and ever-widening scope of the worlds he has created – grabbed me. His characters are wonderfully real too – human and otherwise. I was hooked immediately!”

 

• May 12th, 2021 • Posted in News

CZECH DEAL FOR NEW RAMSEY CAMPBELL COLLECTION

Jiří Stárek of DOBROVSKÝ s.r.o.publishers in the Czech Republic has commissioned a new collection of stories by Ramsey Campbell – to be chosen by the author. The agent was John Jarrold.

Ramsey Campbell is the doyen of horror novelists.  He is the only living horror writer to appear in the Oxford Companion to English Literature. He was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of Liverpool John Moores University in 2015.

Film-maker, screenwriter, producer and novelist Guillermo del Toro has tweeted about Ramsey Campbell: “An absolute master of modern horror. And a damn fine writer at that.”

DOBROVSKY’s authors include Harlan Ellison, Dan Simmons, Josh Malerman, Stuart Turton, Peter Straub, Robert R. McCammon, John Langan, Jennifer McMahon, Adam Nevill, Gene Wolfe, Matt Haig, Bentley Little, Sarah Gailey, and Mary Robinette Kowal.

• April 26th, 2021 • Posted in News

WIZARD’S TOWER ACQUIRE CRATER SCHOOL NOVELS, STORIES AND COOKBOOK FROM CHAZ BRENCHLEY

Cheryl Morgan, publisher of Wizard’s Tower Press, has acquired World English and ebook rights to three Crater School novels, a story collection and a school cookbook from Chaz Brenchley.  The agent was John Jarrold.

Chaz gives the background to this world:

 

“When I got married and moved to Silicon Valley, I found a NASA base just a couple of miles down the road, so of course that’s where I went to watch the transit of Venus.

“SETI headquarters is a short walk from our door, and they were holding weekly public symposiums where scientists would talk about their latest projects or discoveries or theories, and there was always a fair chance of finding more Nobel prizewinners in the audience than there were on the stage.

“Meanwhile, Curiosity had just landed on Mars, and that’s where all the conversation was focused. And I was an SF writer suddenly bumping elbows with planetary scientists, talking about the colour of the Martian sky, and is it any wonder that my creative mind started looking that way?

“At the same time, a parallel conversation was happening in steampunk circles, critiquing the way that Victorian England seemed to have become the default environment and the default aesthetic for the whole genre, and it didn’t really need to be that way. Which was both true and necessary to say, but it left me wondering what effect a different technology might actually have had on imperial ambitions and colonial history. If, say, the British had Mars—old Mars, a steampunk-adjacent Mars, with canals and breathable atmosphere and alien life and all—while the Russians got Venus…

“I’ve been writing stories for a few years now, where the rubric is essentially ‘If Mars were a province of the British Empire, then so-and-so would so have gone there,’ where so-and-so might be Oscar Wilde or T E Lawrence or A E Housman or any number of other candidates. And you don’t know this, but I am also a lifelong devotee of the Chalet School books by Elinor M Brent-Dyer; and if Mars were a province of the British Empire, then that cherished institution would absolutely have a sister-foundation there. It was already established in the canon that boys were sent back to England for their education, but girls were not; there would clearly be a need for boarding schools for the colony’s daughters.

“And hence—thanks to the generous support of my Patreon backers—the Crater School, offering an English education on an alien world. Set firmly within the school-story tradition of the 1930s, while at the same time equally firmly within the traditions of Old Mars. These books may be the most fun I’ve had at the keyboard in a great while, and I’m delighted to be able to bring them to a wider audience at last.”

Cheryl Morgan said:

 

“I have been a fan of Chaz’s work for a very long time. I am absolutely delighted to welcome him to Wizard’s Tower, and be able to bring the Crater School books to the wider audience that they deserve.”

The novels and collection will be published in spring 2021, autumn 2021, spring 2022 (collection) and autumn 2022.

More details about the cookbook will come in a separate press release.

 

 

 

 

 

 

• October 21st, 2020 • Posted in News

Michael Joseph/Penguin acquires ‘irresistible’ revenge thriller by Ashok Banker

Michael Joseph has acquired the revenge thriller A Kiss After Dying by Ashok Banker.

Publisher Joel Richardson acquired world rights in the novel from John Jarrold at the John Jarrold Literary Agency.

The novel begins with the chance meeting of two young people, Ricky and Hannah – or so Ricky thinks. Soon he finds himself falling for this enigmatic young woman, but we already know the danger he’s in: Hannah has revenge on her mind. And Ricky is only the beginning…

Banker is an Indian author born in Mumbai, now living in Los Angeles. The novel marks his international thriller debut, and was inspired by Ira Levin’s classic A Kiss Before Dying.

Richardson said: “You will never have read a thriller like this one, and you’ll never have met a heroine like Hannah. The cool fresh voice of this reminded me of My Lovely Wife, the audacious set up has echoes of The Kind Worth Killing, and the twist is genuinely jaw-dropping. I’ve had a long wait for an irresistibly good thriller, and I’m so delighted to be publishing this one.”

Banker said: “I’m an avid fan of psychological thrillers. I always wanted to write one that would deliver all the twists, suspense, thrills and drama of my favourite authors. I’m over the moon that Joel Richardson and Michael Joseph are publishing A Kiss After Dying. I wish Hannah good hunting as she goes out into the world!”

A Kiss After Dying is scheduled to be published in spring 2022.

• October 14th, 2020 • Posted in News