Melcer, Mel

Mel’s short fiction has appeared in Daily Science Fiction. She is a screenwriter and a director with several short films produced and exhibited at festivals, but her focus has now shifted to fiction.

She was born in Poland in time to see the Iron Curtain go down, and has since lived in the US, the Netherlands, Belgium, and for the past eight years in the UK. She studied English literature in Poland and in the USA.

Mel’s new SF novel is ORION’S SHADOWS. 39-One is the leader of an elite force of Shadows, enhanced soldiers who run near-suicide missions against an invading alien civilization. Overwhelmed and outgunned, humans have been on the retreat for over three centuries, evacuating entire systems in a struggle for survival of humankind. 39-One no longer believes his sacrifice will make a difference, but he’s resolved to die trying. However, this is only the opening of a book whose scope expands exponentially in terms of setting, characters and tone. It will appeal to readers of Anne Leckie’s Ancillary Justice and Yoon Ha Lee’s Ninefox Gambit.