Latest JJLA news

Mark Morris to Edit Original Horror Anthologies for Titan

Cath Trechman, Senior Fiction Editor at Titan Publishing has commissioned two horror anthologies from Mark Morris. The deal is for World rights. The agent was John Jarrold and The Titan Book of Horror Stories will be delivered early in 2017 for publication in the autumn. The second volume will follow 12 months later.


Mark Morris has written over twenty-five novels, among which are Toady, The Immaculate, Fiddleback and The Deluge, three short story collections and several novellas. As editor of Cinema Macabre, a book of horror movie essays by genre luminaries, he won the 2007 British Fantasy Award. His script work includes audio dramas for Big Finish Productions’ Doctor Who and Jago & Litefoot ranges, and also for Bafflegab’s Hammer Chillers series. His recently published work includes the first two books of his Obsidian Heart trilogy, The Wolves of London and The Society of Blood (Titan Books), and he is currently working on the final book of the trilogy, The Wraiths of War, which will be published in October 2016.


Morris said:  “I grew up, as many of us did, reading the annual Pan and Fontana horror and ghost story anthologies of the 60s, 70s and 80s. As such, it has always been my ambition to edit an annual non-themed horror anthology which retains the spirit of those hugely influential volumes while containing the very best fiction that the modern horror genre, an incredibly rich and diverse field, has to offer. My ultimate aim for The Titan Book of Horror Stories is to create a series that will be seen as a byword for genre excellence for generations to come.”




• February 12th, 2016 • Posted in News

Twitter Q&A About Publishing and Writing Tonight – 7 to 8pm UK Time 8 February

I’ll be on Twitter (@johnjarrold) between 7 and 8pm UK time tonight, answering questions on writing and publishing. Spread the word!

• February 8th, 2016 • Posted in News

Titan Commission Fantasy Series From Richard Ford

Cath Trechman, Senior Fiction Editor at Titan Publishing has commissioned an epic fantasy trilogy, GODS OF WAR, from UK novelist Richard Ford . The deal is for World English rights. The agent was John Jarrold and the first book will be published early in 2017.


In a world where magic has vanished, rival nations vie for power in a continent devastated by war. When a young woman demonstrates magical talent for the first time in decades there are those that will kill to obtain her power. But the girl finds that guardians can come from the most unlikely places.


Cath Trechman said: “We are thrilled to be publishing Richard’s outstanding new trilogy. He is a wonderful writer and Gods of War is gritty, character-driven epic fantasy at its best.”


Richard Ford said: “I am over the moon the Gods of War trilogy has found a home. The enthusiasm from Cath and her team made me realise Titan is the perfect fit for the series.”


John Jarrold said: “Richard and I had a long and detailed meeting with Cath and her Sales and Marketing colleagues in the Titan offices.  Their enthusiasm and strategy was wonderful and I’m looking forward to seeing them spring into action!”

• December 11th, 2015 • Posted in News

John Jarrold Q&A about writing and publishing on Twitter

I’ll be doing a one-hour Q&A on Twitter (@johnjarrold) about writing and publishing one evening (UK time) in the week of December 8. More details soon…

• December 6th, 2015 • Posted in News

Richard Ford e-book 99p deal

Richard Ford’s third STEELHAVEN fantasy novel, LORD OF ASHES, is published in paperback tomorrow, 8 October , by Headline in the UK. From 26 October -2 November 2015, the first book in the series, HERALD OF THE STORM, will be 99p across all e-tailers and will include an extract of Books Two and Three in the series in the back.


• October 7th, 2015 • Posted in News